120,000 Stories (2-CD Set)

Item # 040590.

Nobuko Miyamoto is an icon of Asian American music and activism. Since the early 1970s, she has been exploring ways to reclaim and re-spirit our minds, bodies, histories, and communities, using the arts to create social change and forge solidarity. 120,000 Stories collects powerful new songs, reinterpretations of old ones, and recordings from across her career, including from the seminal 1973 album A Grain of Sand and the band Warriors of the Rainbow. These songs speak to past and present struggles—for self-determination, Black Lives, the environment. They chronicle difficult histories, they celebrate resilient traditions, and most of all, they endeavor to connect communities.

Songs included:

We Are the Children, Not Yo' Butterfly,  Gaman,  Tampopo (Dandelion),  Somos Asiáticos,  Ichigo Ichie,  What Is the Color of Love?, 120,000 Stories,  Meditation on a Lotus,  Black Lives Matter, What Time Is It on the Clock of the World? To All Relations / Tala‘a 'l-badru ‘alaynā , Yellow Pearl, Free the Land, West to East, Beckoning, American Made, English Lesson, Pilipino Tango, To All Relations (Mitakuye Oyasin), Fortunata, Yuiyo Bon Odori, Mottainai, Cycles of Change, Bam Butsu, No Tsunagari (10,000 Things, All Connected)            

Featuring artists:

George Abe, Jesse Acuna, Gerald Albright, Asiyah Ayubbi, Francis Awe, Russel Baba, César Castro, Charlie Chin, Jose De Vega, Kenny Endo, Tylana Enomoto, Gabriel González, Martha González, Chris Kando Iijima, Rev. Masao Kodani, June Kuramoto, Cava González Miranda, Derek Nakamoto, Tex Nakamura, Duncan Pain, Young Ae Park, Mike Penny, Juan A. Pérez, Quetzal, Nancy Sekizawa, Carla Vega, Benny Yee.

Also Available:

Nobuko Miyamoto Ornament
Nobuko Miyamoto Ornament

Not Yo' Butterfly T-shirt
Not Yo' Butterfly T-shirt

Pin It

Related Items